img_10621

I’ve never baked or cooked with yams, so I decided to give it a try. I used about 2/3 of a large yam. To get them ready for the oven, I put them in a bowl with sunflower oil, salt and pepper, making sure all the pieces were coated. Baked them at 375F for 40 minutes. After the first 20 minutes I spread them around flipped them order so all the sides would bake evenly.

img_1119

They get cold quickly, so eat them within the first 10 minutes out of the oven.

img_1126

Adapted from: http://smittenkitchen.com/2007/09/bronx-worthy-bagels/

I changed the recipe in the following ways: used whole wheat pastry flour instead of bread flour (couldn’t find any at the local grocery), added 1tbsp of wheat gluten per cup of pastry flour, halved the recipe, made them mini-bagels, and used an egg wash in order to get the toppings to stay on. Unfortunately, the onion pieces had a difficult time staying put on the bagel..

img_1128

the next morning I boiled them for 1 min 30 sec on each side, and put them in the oven to bake for 10 minutes, halfway through I turned the baking sheet 180 deg. and lowered the temp 25 deg.

