Throughout the past week I’ve cooked, baked, knitted, and visited my mom’s house where one of my cats takes up residence.

IMG_1756re
I made these about a week ago..
a little bit of apple cider vinegar, olive oil, salt, and pepper.
Really make sure to lay them flat or the entire piece won’t get crispy. They truly do melt in your mouth,
but don’t let them overbake.

Friday, March 20th was both my boyfriend and my birthday. I was at my mom’s for a few days and wanted to make him something special. He loves eclairs, and I have been meaning to make him one for a while now, so I decided it was no better time than for his birthday.
The first recipe I used was horrible. I kept stirring over the heat and the dough never dried out so I had to trash it. Then I used this recipe and it worked out well. It does take quite a while to get the dough to form one ball and separate.. actually, I’m not sure if it works, because I was too tired and still had to finish knitting something, so I didn’t want until it formed one ball. Maybe I should have though.. the dough was very dense.

IMG_1793re
The recipe said it would make about 10, but it only made 4 for me, but that’s probably because I made them pretty large. I actually forgot to set a timer so I had to use one of them as a tester.

IMG_1803re
10 seconds after I took them out of the oven, they deflated. The cream I made didn’t work out, it curdled.. So I used heavy whipping cream to just make a simple whipped cream since I had no time to try the thicker cream again.
I used 2oz bittersweet chocolate, melted it with a bit of butter and spread it on.

I also knit a squirrel for Cameron, since he thinks they are the cutest animals ever. I used a penguin pattern because I couldn’t find a free squirrel pattern that I liked. But of course I altered the penguin pattern to make it more squirrel-like, using the penguin pattern as more of a guideline. I was actually up until 2 a.m. two nights working on it. I didn’t have any black round beads at my mom’s, nor did I have time to knit on hands and feet but I’ll be doing that soon.

I finished another hat this weekend with some beautiful yarn called manos del uruguay, as well as knit some ears on an ear-flap hat made from alpaca (sooo soft!).
IMG_18210
IMG_18230
IMG_18250

And an extra photo of my kitty at my mom’s.
IMG_17720