Well.. yesterday was the last day that I was able to volunteer at the urban farm on campus (unless I have time to go tomorrow). It has been wonderful, saving me plenty of money the past few weeks. It’s a really incredible feeling to harvest my own food, and I’d love to eventually have my own garden.

Now, I hardly eat chicken, but when I do, I make sure it’s local and free range. My favorite of the area is Draper Valley chicken, and they serve it at my favorite place to get burritos. I’ve only prepared chicken once before (and I didn’t really do it myself.. I left it up to Cameron to take care of), and was hoping to find some frozen pre-cooked chicken at the market, but had no such luck. So, I opted for a pack of three thighs of the Draper Valley brand, figuring that I could probably do it myself. Well, I chose the quickest method of cutting the thigh into slices and cooking it on a pan. But when I flipped the thigh over, I was pretty disgusted and had Cameron do it instead. I just don’t like handling raw meat. Since we still have two more thighs left, I am going to use a poaching method instead, so I can just put the whole thigh in without chopping first to make a chicken salad. I’ll let you know how that goes.

For this dish, I used eggplant, zucchini, carrots, broccoli, onion, and garlic. All but the last two were handpicked by yours truly. I’m trying to be as dairy-less as possible, but it’s so damn hard. I topped my pasta with a bit of cottage cheese, while Cameron used butter and parmesan cheese. I’m not that big of a fan of tomato sauce, but maybe I just haven’t found the right one for me.

IMG_3494

And then because I can’t help but post these adorable photos of Lucy, here are a few. She did paw at the lens a few times, and move around into harder poses to photograph, but other than that, she did well for such close-ups!

IMG_3423

IMG_3457

