I love this time of the year. Some leaves are already changing colors and the temperature is just perfect when the sun is out. This is also the perfect time for going to the Tuesday market, where it is much less crowded than at the Saturday market, and the amount of fresh choices are terrific.

I picked up a good amount of concord grapes, as they are finally ripe and irresistible. These grapes are probably my favorite, and having them only once a year (this is only my second year ever having them!) makes them a special seasonal treat. I also picked up a few red potatoes, a bag of field greens, a new (to me) variety of apples, and the brightest red pepper I have ever seen.

It had been a while since the last time I roasted some herbed potatoes, and decided to make some for dinner earlier tonight.

IMG_3576

I also cut up about a half a yellow onion into large chunks, adding olive oil, garlic powder, dill, parsley, oregano, salt, and pepper, mixing well to make sure the potato pieces were thoroughly coated.

IMG_3581

I baked them for about 40 minutes in the oven at 400 degrees, and served them on a plate next to some locally-grown field greens with carrots, tomato, red onion, and tempeh, the latter which Cameron had prepared while I prepared the salad.

The onion chunks shrunk a fair amount and had a sweet taste after roasting them, so perhaps next time I’ll use a different variety of onion or just use onion powder. Nonetheless, everything was still quite delicious.

IMG_3587

