Sometimes, I’ll keep a pear or two out on my vegetable/fruit plate, pushing into it slightly with my finger to check for ripeness each day. Well, this time, I forgot about my precious pears for a few days, and when I noticed them again, they felt over-ripe. I put them in my fridge until I could figure out what to do with them.

I didn’t want a whole cake or pie, but something in a ramekin, individually-sized. Something like this: chocolate pear cakes.
Perfect.

IMG_3676

Instead of butter, I used 3 tbsp of coconut oil, melted until liquid. I did use 2 tbsp brown sugar, but could have easily used agave nectar instead.

IMG_3679

IMG_3685

Instead of cow’s milk, I used oat milk. It also took 40 minutes to bake, instead of the 20 minutes that the original recipe called for. For the topping, I used a left-over mix of crumble topping that I had made a while ago, and figured this would be a good time to use some of it up. Served with vanilla ice cream, and you’ve got yourself a delicious dessert.

