Hello hello!! I’ve been enjoying my time on the east coast with family for the past few days and have endured a 22 inch snow storm the day after I arrived. I have never seen this much snow and it looked beautiful. But not so much anymore… at least not near the roads.

IMG_3742
IMG_3738
Yes, that says 11 inches.. but that was at about 11:00 am. By the end of the evening, it was 22 inches!!

We went out for sushi for dinner this evening, and they had one of those table-top cards advertising their desserts with photos. There was one for the molten lava cake and I mentioned that I could make four of them at home for the same price as one served there. I used this recipe before, and was happy with the way it came out so I decided to stick with it again this evening.

I could have made these easily with agave nectar. And I say that only because I am pretty sure I’ve made them like that before.. but I wasn’t 100% sure… so I didn’t want to take the chance in messing it up and having it come out too liquidy by not having the cake-like outer edges with the help of the cane sugar. Especially when I got the family all hyped up for it before I even started making it.

IMG_3798

So really, I didn’t need to dust the ramekins with powdered sugar, as it didn’t make it easier for the cakes to release and flip out onto a plate..

IMG_3800

IMG_3806

IMG_3819

I truly love baking in ramekins… they’re the perfect portion and are easy to clean up.

